Kidney Stones and Spinach, Chard, and Beet Greens Don’t Eat Too Much

The following video is brought to you courtesy of the NutritionFacts.org YouTube Channel. Click the video below to watch it now.

Given their oxalate content, how much is too much spinach, chard, beet greens, chaga mushroom powder, almonds, cashews, star fruit, and instant tea?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

If you missed it, be sure to check out the previous video: Oxalates in Spinach and Kidney Stones: Should We Be Concerned? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Oxalates-in-Spinach-and-Kidney-Stones-Should-We-Be-Concerned).

To be clear, I encourage everyone to eat huge amounts of dark green leafies every day, the healthiest food on the planet, but if you follow this advice (and you should!) then just choose any of the other wonderful greens. If you eat regular boring amounts of greens (like a serving a day) then it doesn’t matter which you choose. I continue to eat spinach, beet greens, and chard all the time. It’s just that you can overdo those three, so when I’m trying to hit my pound-a-day green leafy quota I personally do mostly kale, collards, and arugula, which also happen to have the added benefit of being cruciferocious!

Why are greens so good for us? How aren’t they?!
• Eating Green to Prevent Cancer (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/eating-green-to-prevent-cancer/)
• The Broccoli Receptor: Our First Line of Defense (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-broccoli-receptor-our-first-line-of-defense-2/)
• Greens vs. Glaucoma (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/greens-vs-glaucoma/)
• Preventing Alzheimer’s Disease with Plants (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-alzheimers-disease-with-plants/)
• Slowing Our Metabolism with Nitrate-Rich Vegetables (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/slowing-metabolism-nitrate-rich-vegetables/)
• The Benefits of Kale & Cabbage for Cholesterol (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-benefits-of-kale-and-cabbage-for-cholesterol/)
• Brain Healthy Foods to Fight Aging (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/brain-healthy-foods-to-fight-aging)
• Do Lutein Supplements Help with Brain Function? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-lutein-supplements-help-with-brain-function)

Some tips on how you might prep them for max benefit:
• How to Cook Greens (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-cook-greens)
• Second Strategy to Cooking Broccoli (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/second-strategy-to-cooking-broccoli/)
• Dr. Greger in the Kitchen: My New Favorite Beverage (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dr-greger-in-the-kitchen-my-new-favorite-beverage/)

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kidney-stones-and-spinach-chard-and-beet-greens-dont-eat-too-much and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kidney-stones-and-spinach-chard-and-beet-greens-dont-eat-too-much. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”
To view the subtitles in transcript format, click on the ellipsis button below the video, choose “Open transcript”, and select the language you’d like to view them in.

Image credit: Jo Sonn / unsplash

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Comments are closed.