Flashback Friday: Which Fruits and Vegetables Boost DNA Repair?

The following video is brought to you courtesy of the NutritionFacts.org YouTube Channel. Click the video below to watch it now.

Every hour, there are 800 incidents of DNA damage in our bodies. Which foods help us patch back up: apples, broccoli, celery, choy sum, lemons, lettuce, oranges, persimmons, or strawberries?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

If it’s not the vitamin C, what might it be? That’s the subject of my video Citrus Peels and Cancer: Zest for Life? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/citrus-peels-cancer-zest-life/).

Surprised that the lemon benefit was abolished by cooking? Find out which vegetables it may be best to eat raw in Best Cooking Method (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/best-cooking-method/).

What about cooked versus raw garlic? See my video Inhibiting Platelet Activation with Garlic and Onions (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/inhibiting-platelet-activation-with-garlic-and-onions).

For more on DNA protection and repair, see:
• Spicing Up DNA Protection (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/spicing-up-dna-protection/)
• Cancer, Interrupted: Garlic and Flavonoids (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/cancer-interrupted-garlic-flavonoids/)
• Benefits of Turmeric for Arsenic Exposure (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/benefits-of-turmeric-for-arsenic-exposure/)
• Carcinogen-Blocking Effects of Turmeric (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/carcinogen-blocking-effects-of-turmeric/)
• Eating Green to Prevent Cancer (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/eating-green-to-prevent-cancer/)
• Can Green Tea Help Prevent Cancer? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/can-green-tea-help-prevent-cancer/)
• Benefits of Turmeric for Arsenic Exposure (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/benefits-of-turmeric-for-arsenic-exposure/)
• Fighting Autism Brain Inflammation with Food (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/fighting-autism-brain-inflammation-with-food/)
• Blueberries for a Diabetic Diet and DNA Repair (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/blueberries-for-a-diabetic-diet-and-dna-repair/)

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-which-fruits-vegetables-boost-dna-repair and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-which-fruits-vegetables-boost-dna-repair. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgments for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”
To view the subtitles in transcript format, click on the ellipsis button below the video, choose “Open transcript”, and select the language you’d like to view them in.

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Recommended Viewing


You'll LOVE these Conservative Tees & Gear!

VIEW HERE

VIEW HERE

VIEW HERE

VIEW HERE

VIEW HERE

VIEW HERE

VIEW HERE

VIEW HERE

VIEW HERE

<



Comments are closed.